That’s a wrap

This is only my second semester at Syracuse, but GRA 217 has definitely been one of the most beneficial classes that I’ve had here thus far. I learned how to use Adobe Illustrator and overall vastly improved my InDesign and Photoshop skills. I also learned about the different between typeface and font (who knew there was even a difference?) and Gestalt theory. It was extremely useful to learn about visual composition and organization, especially if I end up pursuing a career as a designer. There is a lot more that goes into design than I realized, and this course definitely gave me a taste into how to effectively tackle a project. Even if I do not end up pursuing a career in design, you never know when you may need InDesign or Photoshop skills. It’s also good to understand visual theory in order to coordinate and work in conjunction with other designers. I think the course could be improved by having more time during lecture to work with the Adobe programs. It would be good to have some professional advice. During lab, the TA’s do not always do the greatest job of teaching the programs. In my opinion, I think these programs are best learned with more individual attention and there is definitely a lack of that during lab. Overall, though, the class has been a great learning experience and I look forward to furthering my career in design.

— Jaime Manela

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

