What I learned

What I learned in GRA 217 was rather unexpected. I entered the class thinking that I wouldn’t learn anything relevant to my major, but it turned out to be a very necessary class pertinent to my major and for understanding the design world. Not only did I learn how to use efficient programs like Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator, but I also learned how to identify good and bad design.

Knowing how to use the gestalt theory, hierarchy, choosing typefaces (and the difference between a type and a font) and color, I will be able to succeed in different aspects of my public relations career. Even though I did not expect it to, graphic design is important in this field.

I think that I need to improve my skills with all the Adobe programs. While doing projects, I realized that insufficient knowledge about Photoshop, for example, prevented me from experimenting with different ideas. I believe that once I figure those programs out I will be able to create better designs.

What I liked the most about the class was doing the different projects. I really enjoyed designing them and I also liked that we had feedback every time before handing them in, which was very helpful.

Beatrice

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

