Poster Inspiration

The first poster I thought of when I thought of posters was the movie poster for Black Swan. Not only do I think the movie is excellent, but I also think the poster is extremely effective. I love the simplicity and power of the black, white, and red color scheme. I think that the dainty typeface matches the lifestyle that the main character leads but it still communicates the terror and insanity of the main character. I really think the poster accomplished the difficult task of making a complex plot simple and interesting.

I think this poster is extremely unappealing for the simple reason that it does not effectively convey a message.  I think that is a poster for a band, but all I see are a cluster of unrelated items with no correlation. I wish there were some form of hierarchy or color scheme going on. Instead, I just get a headache. Fail.

  1. Wow. If you wanted to show which poster works and which doesn’t, then you should have chosen two posters from the same category. Not two completely incomparable ones. It just looks like you really didn’t get the fact that some posters don’t have to sell anything, they are designed more as a piece of art.
    I would say “fail” goes to you.

    • I appreciate your comment, however I don’t think you understand the message I was trying to convey. I totally agree that posters don’t have to sell another product or service, but the bottom line is at the end of the day, they need to sell themselves. When I look at that poster I wish I were blind. There’s no point to the design except to distract the viewer from something that is probably more important. Please stop commenting on my blog posts from graphics class. Get a life. Or, if you’d rather, I’m sure there is some useless shit on the poster that you could look at to pass all that free time you have.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

