Response to Reading

I found the concept of typographic hierarchy to be a new term to a concept that I already knew. I think that typographic hierarchy is something that I always recognized and read. However, I never knew the exact name and principles that went along with it. I found it really interesting that there are different types of hierarchy that are specific to a certain project. For example, communicating hierarchy requires a deeply layered hierarchy for a newspaper or magazine layout whereas structural hierarchy is less stylistic. This type of hierarchy is used for websites and mobile phone layouts. In reading this passage, I realized just how much thought and strategy goes into making a publication like a magazine readable yet eye-grabbing at the same time.

-Jackie Dickson

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

